Tags

, , , , , , ,

(2002-2004)

Everywhere I looked for these pictures, the explanation below is what I found- I did not write it, but I cannot find who originally did yet, sorry. But the artist is credited for the photos. Sam Taylor-Wood. She also filmed the Elton John video seen in an earlier post. I really only wanted to post the one picture…maybe my favorite work of art done in the last 50 years…but…and I know there is an obvious appeal to that photo, but I see it as much more than that. I have seen it briefly in the past and just passed over it (I know, right? There has been something very wrong with me). So no, I don’t think I just like it for the obvious reason to like it (again, explained a little more in previous posts, but I was apparently very dismissive & saw him as a blur every time he appeared after he was last sentenced to prison/rehab).

Here is the intro I find on everyone’s site that has posted these photos:

Hollywood hunks including Jude Law, Robert Downey, Jr. and Laurence Fishburne amazed artist Sam Taylor-Wood with their heart-felt sobs for her bizarre new exhibition, Crying Men.

The photographer asked the actors to produce real tears for a series of images which she hopes capture the vulnerable sides of the movie stars. She is particularly proud of pictures of the Cold Mountain hunk weeping in a fetal position and a portrait of Reservoir Dogs star Michael Madsen betraying his hard-man image by crying hysterically.

Taylor-Wood explains, “Some of the men cried before I even finished loading the camera, but others found it really difficult. People can decide for themselves which they think are the authentic tears and which they think are fake. It’s about the idea of taking these big, masculine men and showing a different side.”

benicio del toro


willem dafoe

robert downey jr

daniel craig

dustin hoffman

ed harris

forest whitaker

gabriel byrne


hayden christiansen

john leguizamo

jude law

kris kristofferson


laurence fishburne

michael madsen

paul newman


michael pitt



robin williams

tim roth

ryan gosling

sam shepard

sean penn

steve buscemi

ben stiller

woody harrelson